

## University of Pretoria Yearbook 2023

## Dynamical systems 782 (WTW 782)

Qualification	Postgraduate
Faculty	Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
Module credits	15.00
NQF Level	08
Programmes	BScHons (Applied Mathematics)
Prerequisites	No prerequisites.
Contact time	2 lectures per week
Language of tuition	Module is presented in English
Department	Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Period of presentation	Semester 1

## **Module content**

Introduction to the general theory of dynamical systems and to the theory of dynamical systems represented via systems of ODEs. Quantitative and qualitative analyses of linear systems. Qualitative analysis of nonlinear systems: domain, invariant sets, stability of equilibria, Hartman-Grobman theorem, centre manifold theorem, Lyapunov method. Structural stability and bifurcation. Bifurcation of equilibria. Hopf bifurcation. Applications: population models, chemical reactions, circuits.

## **Regulations and rules**

The regulations and rules for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project



The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.